Political leave for local elected officials

Mayors, aldermen and council members are entitled to political leave for the hours of work devoted to the exercise of their political mandate. The right to political leave is based on articles 78 to 81 of the amended municipal law of December 13, 1988.

When mayors, aldermen and council members are self-employed or when they are without a profession, and therefore not benefiting from a statutory regime, they receive a flat-rate allowance to compensate for the time devoted to their political mandate if they are under 65 years of age. When an employer employs them, the latter is reimbursed an amount corresponding to the gross remuneration and the employer's contributions to the social security agency for the period during which they were absent from work in order to carry out the political mandate. The related implementing rules are set in the amended Grand-Ducal regulation of December 6, 1989.

In addition, mayors and aldermen are entitled to a set allowance based on the number of members of the municipal council. The maximum amounts are fixed by Grand-Ducal regulation. These allowances cover all expenses inherent to the function, except for travel and accommodation expenses, as well as communication expenses, which may be reimbursed additionally. Some municipalities provide the mayor with a company car.

Local counsellors receive attendance fees for their participation in local council meetings.

Political leave for the year 2021

Applications may be submitted before 30 September 2022 either electronically via the MyGuichet platform of the Guichet.lu portal or by post using the forms available under the "Forms" section of the Guichet.lu portal.

Application for reimbursement

This procedure concerns municipal elected representatives and their employers. In concrete terms, the employer of an elected municipal official may submit a request for reimbursement of political leave for the year 2021 to the Ministry of Home Affairs before 30 September 2022.

Application for compensation

Elected representatives who are self-employed or without a profession, who thus do not benefit from a statutory scheme, and who are under 65 years of age may submit a request for compensation before 30 September 2022, enclosing the certificate of affiliation (CSSS).

Last update

Congé politique des élus locaux

Les bourgmestres, échevins et conseillers communaux ont droit à un congé politique pour les heures de travail consacrées à l'exercice de leur mandat politique. Le droit au congé politique se fonde sur les articles 78 à 81 de la loi communale modifiée du 13 décembre 1988.

Lorsque les bourgmestres, échevins et conseillers communaux exercent une activité professionnelle indépendante ou lorsqu’ils sont sans profession ne bénéficiant pas d’un régime statutaire, ils perçoivent une indemnité forfaitaire pour compenser le temps consacré à leur mandat politique s’ils sont âgés de moins de 65 ans. Lorsqu’ils exercent une activité rémunérée auprès d’un patron, il est remboursé à l’employeur un montant correspondant à la rémunération brute majorée des cotisations patronales versées aux organismes de la sécurité sociale pendant la période pendant laquelle ils se sont absentés pour remplir le mandat politique. Les modalités d'exécution y relatives sont arrêtées dans le règlement grand-ducal modifié du 6 décembre 1989.

En plus les bourgmestres et échevins ont droit à une indemnité fixée en tenant compte du nombre des membres du conseil communal. Les montants maxima sont fixés par règlement grand-ducal. Ces indemnités couvrent tous les frais inhérents à la fonction, à l'exception des frais de route et de séjour, ainsi que des frais de téléphone, qui peuvent être remboursés aux intéressés. Certaines communes mettent à la disposition du bourgmestre une voiture de service.

Les conseillers communaux reçoivent des jetons de présence pour leur participation aux réunions du conseil communal.

Congé politique de l'année 2020

Les demandes peuvent être transmises avant le 30 septembre 2021 soit électroniquement par la plate-forme MyGuichet du portail Guichet.lu, soit par voie postale par le biais des formulaires disponibles sous la rubrique "Formulaires" du portail Guichet.lu.

Demande de remboursement

Cette démarche concerne les élus communaux et leurs employeurs. Concrètement, l'employeur d'un élu communal peut introduire une demande de remboursement du congé politique de l'année 2020 auprès du ministère de l'Intérieur avant le 30 septembre 2021.

Demande d'indemnisation

Les élus qui exercent une activité indépendante ainsi que les personnes sans profession ne bénéficiant pas de régime statutaire, âgés de moins de 65 ans, peuvent introduire une demande d'indemnisation avant le 30 septembre 2021 en y joignant le certificat d'affiliation (CSSS).

Dernière mise à jour