Political leave for local elected officials

Mayors, aldermen and council members are entitled to political leave for the hours of work devoted to the exercise of their political mandate. The right to political leave is based on articles 78 to 81 of the amended municipal law of December 13, 1988.

When mayors, aldermen and council members are self-employed or when they are without a profession, and therefore not benefiting from a statutory regime, they receive a flat-rate allowance to compensate for the time devoted to their political mandate if they are under 65 years of age. When an employer employs them, the latter is reimbursed an amount corresponding to the gross remuneration and the employer's contributions to the social security agency for the period during which they were absent from work in order to carry out the political mandate. The related implementing rules are set in the amended Grand-Ducal regulation of December 6, 1989.

In addition, mayors and aldermen are entitled to a set allowance based on the number of members of the municipal council. The maximum amounts are fixed by Grand-Ducal regulation. These allowances cover all expenses inherent to the function, except for travel and accommodation expenses, as well as communication expenses, which may be reimbursed additionally. Some municipalities provide the mayor with a company car.

Local counsellors receive attendance fees for their participation in local council meetings.

Political leave for the year 2021

Applications may be submitted before 30 September 2022 either electronically via the MyGuichet platform of the Guichet.lu portal or by post using the forms available under the "Forms" section of the Guichet.lu portal.

Application for reimbursement

This procedure concerns municipal elected representatives and their employers. In concrete terms, the employer of an elected municipal official may submit a request for reimbursement of political leave for the year 2021 to the Ministry of Home Affairs before 30 September 2022.

Application for compensation

Elected representatives who are self-employed or without a profession, who thus do not benefit from a statutory scheme, and who are under 65 years of age may submit a request for compensation before 30 September 2022, enclosing the certificate of affiliation (CSSS).

Last update

Politischer Urlaub für kommunale Mandatsträger

Bürgermeister, Schöffen und Gemeinderäte haben Anspruch auf politischen Urlaub für die Arbeitszeit, die sie für die Ausübung ihres politischen Mandats aufwenden. Das Recht auf politischen Urlaub beruht auf den Artikeln 78 bis 81 des geänderten Gemeindegesetzes vom 13. Dezember 1988.

Wenn Bürgermeister, Schöffen und Gemeinderäte selbständig sind oder keinen Beruf ausüben, und somit nicht von einer gesetzlichen Regelung profitieren, erhalten sie eine pauschale Vergütung, um die für ihr politisches Mandat aufgewendete Zeit zu kompensieren, sofern sie unter 65 Jahre alt sind. Wenn sie eine bezahlte Tätigkeit bei einem Arbeitgeber ausüben, erhält dieser für die Zeit ihrer Abwesenheit zur Wahrnehmung des politischen Mandats einen Betrag in Höhe des Bruttogehalts zuzüglich der Arbeitgeberbeiträge, die den Sozialversicherungsträgern während des Zeitraums der Abwesenheit gezahlt werden. Die entsprechenden Durchführungsbestimmungen sind in der geänderten großherzoglichen Verordnung vom 6. Dezember 1989 festgelegt.

Darüber hinaus haben die Bürgermeister und Schöffen Anspruch auf eine Entschädigung, die auf der Basis der Anzahl der Mitglieder des Gemeinderats festgelegt wird. Die Höchstbeträge werden durch großherzogliche Verordnung festgelegt. Diese Entschädigungen decken alle Dienstkosten ihrer Funktion ab, mit Ausnahme der Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten sowie der Telefonkosten, die den Betroffenen zusätzlich erstattet werden können. Einige Gemeinden stellen dem Bürgermeister einen Dienstwagen zur Verfügung.

Gemeinderatsmitglieder erhalten für ihre Teilnahme an Gemeinderatssitzungen Sitzungsgelder.

Politischer Urlaub für das Jahr 2021

Die Bewerbungen können bis zum 30. September 2022 entweder elektronisch über die Plattform MyGuichet des Portals Guichet.lu oder per Post unter Verwendung der Formulare eingereicht werden, die unter der Rubrik "Formulare" des Portals Guichet.lu zur Verfügung stehen.

Antrag auf Erstattung

Dieses Verfahren betrifft die kommunalen Mandatsträger und ihre Arbeitgeber. Der Arbeitgeber eines gewählten Mandatsträgers kann bis zum 30. September 2022 beim Innenministerium einen Antrag auf Erstattung des politischen Urlaubs für das Jahr 2021 stellen.

Antrag auf Entschädigung

Gewählte Vertreter, die selbständig sind oder keinen Beruf ausüben, und somit nicht von einer gesetzlichen Regelung profitieren, und unter 65 Jahre alt sind, können bis zum 30. September 2022 einen Antrag auf Entschädigung stellen, dem die Bescheinigung der CSSS beizufügen ist.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am